Why Russians aren’t smiling

29 Apr

A lot of Americans that come home from a quick trip to Russia ask me why Russians are so mean. I always respond that Russians aren’t mean at all, and, in fact, they are some of the kindest people that I know. What makes Russians seem mean is simply a cultural difference in what facial expressions are appropriate and when.

I came across this blog post about why Russians don’t smile like Americans do, and I couldn’t have said it better myself. Anyone who is planning a trip to Russia would be wise to read this blog post about why Russians don’t smile.

A Stalin era poster. "Be vigilant. Even walls are listening nowadays. Chat and gossip are not far from high treason. DO NOT CHAT!"

Learn more about Ashley R. Cummings on Google+.

4 Responses to “Why Russians aren’t smiling”

  1. sykose May 4, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    Makes quite a lot of sense, and seems quite logical actually. Maybe we have the smiling thing all wrong.

    • ashleyrcummings May 4, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      I know, right? I will say, though, a good ole American smile is pretty refreshing after 2 years in Russia.

      • sykose May 4, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

        Yeah im sure it is. Must seem pretty dour, all the people wandering around poker faced. Beautiful looking country though.

        • ashleyrcummings May 4, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

          One of my favorite places on earth, especially in the sprint, summer and fall. Winter is a bit cold for my liking.

Leave a Reply

