Remembering 9/11 – Honoring Freedom

12 Sep

Thanks to my dear friend, and talented professional photographer, Ashley Crist, I am able to share some beautiful pictures to help us remember 9/11. These pictures were taken yesterday at the memorial service in Arlington, VA.

As I am sure you do, I remember 9/11 perfectly clear. My dad was the first person to somberly break the news to me before I rushed off to school. I was a freshman in college, and there was chaos all over the television. The whole campus seemed to stop, and no one worried about the lesson plans for the day, as we all tuned in to get update after update. My heart broke as I watched the towers fall on television and heard the reports.

My main concern was for my sister who lived in New York City, and was staying close to the towers at the time. We finally heard back from her later in the evening, and learned she stood on a Manhattan roof and watched the towers fall. The next few days, she witnessed New York City come together as people rushed to donate blood and help in any capacity.

I think what I remember most was Americans coming together to participate in memorial services, prayer services, and charitable services. Regardless of how divided we may seem as a country, especially during the endless debates surrounding an election year, when the tough gets going, Americans pull together for the right reason. History proves that, and I am so proud to live in a country that pulls together when it really matters.

I am grateful every day for my freedom, for the safety of my friends and family, and for the courageous people who honor freedom. God bless America.

Enjoy the photos, and thank you Ashley for sharing your talents with us.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

One Response to “Remembering 9/11 – Honoring Freedom”

  1. Ashton September 14, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your insights concerning 9/11 and the freedoms we enjoy. I hope all is well for you and your husband!

Leave a Reply

