Las Vegas RollerCon: Come for the bouts; Stay for the butts

2 Aug

If you’re looking for the perfect place to escape the heat this summer, Las Vegas is not the place to go. It is hot, hot, hot. But if you’re looking for a fun time and endlessly entertaining people-watching, Las Vegas (specifically during RollerCon) is where you want to be, with one caveat:  don’t stay at the Riviera.

RollerCon is an annual roller derby convention. Skaters, referees, officials, vendors, and spectators from all over the world take over the Riviera for one week. Everything to do with the convention takes place at the Riviera, so if you’re part of RollerCon, it’s difficult to avoid this crappy hotel. This was my first time going to RollerCon, and while I can’t say for sure if I’ll go again, I know one thing: I’ll never stay at the Riviera again.

If you’re the kind of person who enjoys sleeping on only one flimsy floppy pillow, and you like your garbage piling up for three days before housekeeping bothers to stop by, and you don’t mind having only two washcloth-sized towels to use for three people, then you’ll love the Riv. But if you prefer that your trash be emptied regularly, and your request for extra pillows and towels be honored without having to chase the housekeeping staff down the hallway, then opt for another hotel. To say I was disappointed in the level of service would be an understatement.

So that’s my rant about the Riviera. Now on to the good stuff: butts, butts, and more butts! RollerCon is the mecca for butts of all kinds. Big ones, small ones, round ones, flat ones, jiggly ones, rock hard ones, ones eating booty shorts, and of course, bare ones. Everywhere you looked, there were more butts to behold. I spent a LOT of time staring at butts. I even stayed to watch one bout because I admired a skater’s butt so much. Sure some butts I’d rather not see, but I had to appreciate the confidence of these people – they put it all out there, and they didn’t care what anyone thought. I admired their ability to just let it all hang out, and too bad if you don’t like it.

Image

While I’m on the subject of butts, I have to mention The Thunder From Down Under. That show? Was the greatest ninety minutes of my life.  If you’re in Vegas with your girlfriends, I highly recommend checking out these Aussie hotties. VIP seats were only $60, I screamed so much that I lost my voice for the rest of the week, AND I got to touch six-pack abs and bare butts. Totally worth it.

Image

RollerCon was an amazing experience. Getting to spend a week skating, watching bouts, learning from derby royalty, buying ridiculous amounts of derby merchandise, and spending time being lazy at the pool was awesome. There were events that pushed me outside my comfort zone – like the Black & Blue Ball, to which I wore a blue spandex body suit – something I would NEVER have the guts to do in real life. And I got to watch some of the world’s best derby players in person, which made the cost of the whole trip worth it. But playing the drums on a stripper’s bare butt cheeks? Priceless. 

Image

Author Bio: Bone Junior has been playing roller derby with the Red Rockettes since January 2011, blogging since 2006, and shamelessly tooting her own horn since 1982. You can read more from Bone at http://www.sarahisdabomb.com/.

Thanks to Bone Jr. for your Pic and a Paragraph submission. Love it! Keep ’em coming.

2 Responses to “Las Vegas RollerCon: Come for the bouts; Stay for the butts”

  1. Ashley R. Cummings August 2, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    I can like my own post, because I didn’t write it this time. Love this post and I officially dream of going to Rollercon now. Make sure to check out Bone’s blog. It’s freaking hilarious.

  2. Bruiser Ego August 2, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Bone played that Aussie’s butt like a set of bongo drums! I went to the show just to watch her face and it was well worth it. ❤

Leave a Reply

