Grateful the Family Lives in Minnesota, Instead of Boringcity, Borestate!

10 Jul

My Summer of Action 2012 trip to Minnesota is officially complete, and I must say I have to give Minnesota 2 thumbs up.  While I was severely disappointed that not everyone speaks with the Minnesota accent that I always heard in movies (you know what I’m talking about), I was very impressed with everything else.

The primary reason for visiting Minnesota was to hang out with my darling nieces and nephews, so I did a lot of fun kid things. One of the best places we went to visit was the Minnesota State Zoo.  I am from Utah and haven’t been to the zoo in a 100 years, but last time I went, I don’t remember being that impressed.  The Minnesota State Zoo far exceeded my expectations.  They have a wide range of animals, but we spent most of our time checking out the section dedicated to Minnesota animals.

Image

Foxy Cummings Ladies!

This is what I learned.  If you go into the woods in Minnesota, you might get eaten by anyone of the following animals:

  • Puma (aka BYU Cougar)
  • Lynx
  • Wolf
  • Moose
  • Porcupine
  • Raccoon

And the rest don’t seem all that dangerous, so I naturally lost interest.  When it comes to going out in the wild in Minnesota, I will think twice.

Image

That brings me to the shiny metropolis of Minneapolis.  Minneapolis is home to great universities, lots of diversity and the MALL OF AMERICA!

Why did I put MALL OF AMERICA in all caps?  Well, because it’s as awesome as it sounds.  First of all, they have an amusement park in the middle of the mall, and they have 3 levels of all my favorite shops.  We spent 7 hours shopping at the mall.  Normal malls only get about 2 hours of my attention, so I officially applaud the MoA.

Image

Mall of America 2012

The rest of the time, I spent hanging out with the family in parks, at church and whatnot, which was awesome.  Can’t wait for my return to Minnesota.

Also, Minnesota is home to Target.  I love Target and so I love Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

