South Dakota, not so snoring after all!

25 Jun

My initial thoughts about South Dakota were similar to the way I may feel about taking a math test.  I imagined it would be tedious and boring.  For whatever reason, the thought of having to go to South Dakota, in my mind, the American equivalent of getting banished to a Siberian gulag.  Alas, as I drove through the state last week, I must say the beautiful landscape and amount of cool activities called me to repentance.  Alas, I was wrong about South Dakota.  South Dakota is surprisingly cool, especially if you’re into camping and outdoor fun.

We mostly drove through the state, but I was impressed by the amount of random awesomeness.  For example, from afar, we saw some HUGE random sculpture of a cow head/bull head/some kind of head.  As we got closer, we realized there was a huge sculpture garden off the side of the road.  Porter Sculpture Park is kind of an awesome conglomeration of weirdness in the middle of nowhere.  It was a very noticeable, even a bit disruptive, but a pleasant surprise in the middle of a long drive.

Another fun surprise was billboard after billboard advertising the Corn Palace.  I pictured a huge castle made out of small bits of corn.  Turns out, it’s a venue for concerts and community events drawing popular artists from all over the country. Awesome.

The pinnacle of my visit to South Dakota was obviously Mount Rushmore.  I’ve always seen the pictures of the faces carved into Mount Rushmore, but I have never seen the surrounding landscape.  I also had no understanding of how big the carvings were.  Visiting Mount Rushmore was definitely worth the visit and a nice tribute to strong leaders.  I dug it.

Here are some pics that will hopefully give you a better idea about the things that were curious to me.

 

ImageImage

Image

One Response to “South Dakota, not so snoring after all!”

  1. Dallin Cairns August 4, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    There are certainly plenty of details like that to take into consideration. That could be a nice point to bring up. I offer the ideas above as normal inspiration however clearly there are questions just like the one you bring up where a very powerful thing will probably be working in trustworthy good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, however I’m certain that your job is clearly recognized as a fair game. Each girls and boys feel the impact of only a second’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

Leave a Reply

