Adventure yourself to almost death in Hawaii!

11 May

Did I mention that my trip to Hawaii was rad-tastic?  Oh, I did?  Cool!  Let me tell you a little more about why.

I don’t know about you guys, but when I go somewhere, I like to jam pack as much new adventure as I can.  It often results in me being pretty tired, but the good news about Hawaii is that Hawaii is way behind the rest of the US with regards to the whole Time Zone thaaang.  As a result, you can get up at 5 or 6 am and feel like you were born a morning person, or that you have Red Bull pumping for blood.  It’s awesome.

Now that you don’t have to be afraid of mornings in Hawaii, here are some things you SHOULD be afraid of (not afraid enough not to do it, but afraid enough to feel awesome after conquering your fears). Be afraid of cold water and heights.

First things first: cold water.  I say cold water, because to me, anything that is not a hot tub = cold water.  They always say you just have to jump in and get over it, so that’s what I do, even though I hate that cold feeling.  Here are some fun “cold” water activities we did:

  • Flume in da’ ditch:  This is a pretty fun, chill and gorgeous way to explore Hawaii.  You can ride through the flumes and ditches in the mountains and see the gorgeous terrain.  It gets kinda boring after a while, so make sure you have a list of tunes to sing on your raft.  It sounds dorky, but it’s fun, and you don’t have to be dorky if you sing something cool.Image
  • Snorkeling:  Oh man!  Snorkeling is the BEST in Hawaii!  For whatever reason, I always want to see a turtle whenever I snorkel, but the only place I have ever managed to see one is Hawaii.  It’s definitely worth swallowing ocean water through your snorkel and being cold in the water to catch a glimpse of these magnificent creatures.  Sea turtles: check! Sharks: check! Barracudas: check! Next on list:  killer whale and Nessie (I wonder if Nessie has an English accent)? Hmmm?
  • Surfing:  I tried surfing for the first time, and I learned a couple things.  One, I could totally have been cast as Bethany Hamilton in Soul Surfer, because I rock at surfing (by rock at surfing, I mean, I can stand up in the wave and look like a dork, until I gracefully get clobbered by a wave). Two, surfing takes muscles.  There is a reason why surfing people are strong and hot.  Three, everyone should try surfing, because it is exhilarating and fun.
 
Image

Image

Image

My personal favorite picture of me “surfing.”

Okay, cold water fear has officially been discussed.  Moving on.  Heights.  I am personally not afraid of heights when it’s clear that I am going to be safe, but after being with a group of people who genuinely thought they were going to die from heights, I am realizing that heights are scary to some folks.  This is my advice.  Conquer your fear head on and you will feel energized and awesome.  I think that’s great advice, unless someone applies the same logic to me by asking me to swim in a pool of spiders.  In that case, they should stop suggesting such ridiculous things, and stop bugging me to conquer my fears.

Anyway, we had the time of our lives on the ziplines.  It takes an hour or two to get through the zipline course, and it’s a blast.  They have lines strung from tree to tree, and you go really fast and feel like George of the Jungle.  I guess it’s scary to some people who are scared of heights, but again, it’s 100% safe, and you will not even a little bit die, so go and do it and have fun!

Image

Image

Jumping on the bridges is fun!

Well, I think that concludes my Hawaii post for today.  Don’t worry, more to come.

Also, if you like me, follow me on twitter, facebook, and/or check out my website.

3 Responses to “Adventure yourself to almost death in Hawaii!”

  1. jbassal May 11, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Awesome, my friends been trying to convince me to go to Hawaii, but I’ve been resisting, worried about being stuck in a resort or having to eat various spam dishes, but this is making me reconsider.

    • Ashley R. Cummings May 11, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      ha ha. That’s awesome. I didn’t eat any spam while I was there if it makes you feel any better. Hawaii is awesome! Do it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Bahamas is the perfect place for a summer vacation | Travel with Ashley - May 30, 2012

    […] Adventure yourself to almost death in Hawaii! Archives […]

Leave a Reply

